DIY Mineral Veil!

 Image

Hi Loves! So today I wanted to do a post about a little makeup trick that I’ve been doing for a while now. A couple years back I bought a Bare Minerals starter kit, and was so excited to try it. I thought it was okay (I’ll probably do a full review on it later!), but I particularly fell in love with the Mineral Veil finishing powder. It is basically a translucent finishing powder you put on your face after you’ve done your makeup. I think it’s the perfect way to set your makeup, and it always leaves my skin feeling smooth and soft. However, at $20 a pop, it’s a bit pricey! Despite the price, I wasn’t quite ready to give up using it in my daily makeup routine. After a bit of research, I figured out that it’s super easy to recreate/make at home, and that the ingredients of the store-bought version are so basic. Even better, you don’t have to put in the yucky ingredients (dyes, preservatives) that are in the original version.  I’ve been making the “homemade” version for while now, and don’t plan on stopping anytime soon.

What you’ll need:

  • Some sort of container to hold it in (I use the original Mineral Veil container)
  • Cornstarch
  • Baby Powder

Instructions:

  • In a small bowl/container, mix together the cornstarch and baby powder. The needed amounts of each thing vary based on how big of a “batch” you’re making. Typically, I stick to a 3:1 ratio… 3 parts cornstarch to 1 part baby powder. (For example, 3 teaspoons cornstarch and 1 teaspoon baby powder)
  • Transfer your mineral veil to the container you’ll be storing it in. Make sure that it seals well and won’t spill the powder out! I use the original container the mineral veil came in, though tupperware containers also work well!
  • THAT’S IT! Seriously, it’s so simple!

I hope that you all found this DIY helpful, and that you decide to give it a try. Please let me know your thoughts on it, and if it works for you! I’ve also filmed a how-to video on my YouTube channel, so go ahead and watch it if you want to see a step-by-step on how I do it!

xoxo,

lulu

Leave a Reply

