How To Deep Clean Your Makeup Brushes

Image

Hello again! So I thought today I’d do another beauty related post. Something that is an essential part of my makeup routine doesn’t actually involve putting on makeup. Can you guess what it is?! Well just in case the title of this post didn’t give it away, it’s cleaning my makeup brushes! I do my best to clean my makeup brushes once a week, usually on Sundays. Occasionally I’ll forget (or if we’re being real I just get lazy) but I do my very best to stick with it. Here are a few reasons why you should wash your makeup brushes too:

  • To prevent bacterial growth! Like it or not, if they’re not properly and regularly cleaned, your makeup brushes can become a breeding ground for gross things. Staphylococcus, streptococcus, e-coli, and other gross bacteria could infiltrate your brushes over time. Other things, like oil and dead skin cells, also build up in your brushes.
  • To prevent skin problems! This is directly related with the bacteria stuff we talked about earlier. If you aren’t regularly cleaning your brushes, you are essentially rubbing these gross things all over your skin.
  • Prolong the life of your makeup! In addition to contaminating your skin with the yuckies from your makeup brushes, you can also contaminate your makeup itself each time you apply it. If these bacteria get into your makeup, it can shorten the lifespan of it, and you’ll have to replace it more frequently.

These are just a few of the reasons why you should be washing your makeup brushes often; unfortunately, there are several more.

Now that we’ve covered why you should wash them, let’s talk about how to do it! I’ve tried so many different ways to wash my makeup brushes. I’ve bought brush sprays, sanitizers, and shampoos, but it wasn’t until this past year when I really found a routine that worked well for me. You only need a few things, all of which you’ll most likely have on hand. You need: paper towels, olive oil, shampoo (I’ve found baby shampoo works best), and a sink to wash them in. It’s really simple, but also really effective! Check out the video below to learn how!

One thought on “How To Deep Clean Your Makeup Brushes

  1. Pingback: e.l.f Makeup Haul: First Impression Review | Growing Up Lulu

Leave a Reply

