Featured Article: “20 Things 20-Year-Olds Don’t Get”

Image

Hi there! I wanted to take the time today to share an article I read recently that I found pretty enlightening. The article is called “20 Things 20-Year-Olds Don’t Get,” and I found the article on the Forbes website. It was written by Jason Nazar, a contributor from Docstoc.com. As a twenty-one year old finishing up college and planning on entering the “big kid” workforce soon, I’ve been keeping my eyes and ears open for anything that could help me in my professional development. I am a pretty knowledge-hungry person by nature, so I’ve been particularly interested in anything related to a future career.

This article was tailored to twenty-somethings in the professional world, so obviously I found it relevant to me. I thought that I’d share the article with you all, and hopefully it could be helpful to some of you as well. I’ll highlight the twenty tips it provided, but for the full article (which I do strongly suggest reading!) you’ll have to go over to the Forbes website to check it out. Enjoy!

20 Things 20-Year Olds Don’t Get (courtesy of Forbes.com):

1) Time is not a limitless commodity

2) You’re talented, but talent is overrated

3) We’re more productive in the morning

4) Social media is not a career

5) Pick up the phone

6) Be the first in and last to leave

7) Don’t wait to be told what to do

8) Take responsibility for your mistakes

9) You should be getting your butt kicked

10) A new job a year isn’t a good thing

11) People matter more than perks

12) Map effort to your professional gain

13) Speak up, not out

14) You have to build your technological chops

15) Both the size and the quality of your network matter

16) You need at least 3 professional mentors

17) Pick an idol and act “as if”

18) Read more books, fewer tweets/texts

19) Spend 25% less than you make

20) Your reputation is priceless- don’t damage it

Like I said, make sure you go read the article! Very helpful, I promise!

xo,

Lauren

Leave a Reply

