Someone Has To Say It…

Image

Okay, so there’s a good chance that this post may come across a little snooty, but someone has to say it… I am so sick of people without manners! Again, I apologize if this video comes across as snippy or whatever, but sometimes you just need to rant.

When living on/near a college campus, especially a campus as large as mine, you encounter tons of different people on a daily basis. It’s pretty easy to observe different behavior patterns with all of these different people, so I promise I’m not just being nitpicky. Don’t get me wrong, I have met some amazing people at my school, and most of them are extremely polite. But there’s also the occasional person who you can’t help but to shake your head at, and just ask yourself, “really???”

This may sound ridiculous, but I swear you can tell a lot about a person by whether or not they hold the door open for the person entering a building behind them. I can’t help but laugh at how ridiculous that sounds as I type it, but I swear its true! I’ve especially noticed this in high-traffic areas on campus, such as the student union building or the gym. The other day I was walking into a building and the person right in front of me practically pulled the door closed behind them, as opposed to holding it open for me. Now I don’t expect anyone to go out of there way to hold the door for me, but it never hurts to look back as you and hold it for anyone that might be close (at least that’s what I always do). It’s one thing not to see someone behind you, but when you do and ignore it, that’s just rude.

I can’t believe I actually just wrote a whole post ranting about this, but it’s something that really bugs me! I don’t want to sound all high and mighty or act like I have perfect manners all the time, but as far as I’m concerned it’s all about common courtesy. Is that too much to ask?? Okay, I’ll shut up now. Thanks for reading, don’t judge me too much 😉

xo,

Lauren

Leave a Reply

