Passions

Unknown

Hey there! So today I have another sort of cliché post for you all. I wanted to share with you a few of the things that I’m really passionate about, and what I love to do. As a student (or as an adult in general), too often I spend my days solely focused on doing the things I need to accomplish. This probably sounds like a “duh” sort of statement, but hear me out for a second.

I have a pretty solid routine during the school year. I wake up, get ready, go to class, come home, do some schoolwork, go to work, go to the gym, do more school work, and go to bed. Of course I also squeeze some fun or relaxing things in there, but in general my days are pretty repetitive. When I have free time, I usually watch a show or see if a friend can hang out, and while I really enjoy those things, it’s not necessarily what I’m passionate about. Here are some of my passions though:

  • Cooking: I’ve loved to cook for as long as I remember. It’s very therapeutic for me, and something that I thoroughly enjoy. While I cook pretty often (a girl’s gotta eat after all), rarely do actually carve out the time to cook for fun.
  • Spending time outdoors: During the summer, when I’m not busy a lot of the time I’ll go to the park or the lake to hang out. I might just be reading, or sitting and listening to music, but the outdoors are so calming and relaxing. I’ve done this once or twice since school started, but especially now that the weather’s changing I know I probably won’t do this much.
  • Arts and crafts: Okay, so maybe art is a stretch for this one. However when I have free time I love to do crafty little projects. While I’m in school I don’t really have the time to do these things, and even if I do, I usually find something else to do instead.
  • Decorating: When I was younger I wanted to be an interior designer, and even though I’ve decided not to go that route, I still love all things home décor. It so fun for me to think of different décor ideas, and I’ve probably spent way too much time imagining how I’d decorate my future home. As a college student, unfortunately I don’t really have the resources or need to decorate all that much!

So those are a few of my passions. Trust me there are a lot more, but these are some of the basics. As you may have figured out, even though I love these things I don’t really do them all that much. This year, instead of wasting my free time watching TV or catching up on sleep, I really want to try to focus on doing these things more. I think I’ll feel more accomplished, and it will be a nice break from so much schoolwork! Even more than just doing these things, I really want to work on figuring out a way I could incorporate my passions into a future career for myself. That’s a big goal of mine for my senior year in college.

What are your passions? I’d love to hear, so share below!

Xo,

Lauren

Leave a Reply

