Dad’s Weekend 2013

485096_10151249235017720_1254554466_n

Hi there! So this past weekend was “Dad’s Weekend” at my college, and I am so grateful that my dad was able to make it! Especially considering the recent events with my Grandma (his mom), I wasn’t sure if he would be able to attend. But he did and we had a blast! Instead of having a parent’s weekend every year, we have Dad’s Weekend in the fall and Mom’s Weekend in the spring. Honestly they are probably two of my favorite weekends every year, and it’s so fun to get some one-on-one time with my parents.

 My dad got into town on Friday afternoon, and even though the weekend went by way too quickly, we were able to do a lot! On Friday we met up with some family friends, went out to dinner, and saw the movie “Captain Phillips.” It stars Tom Hanks as Captain Phillips, and is based on the 2009 hijacking of the U.S. Alabama by Somali Pirates. The movie was amazing, and I would highly recommend it! After we got done with the movie we met up some other friends at one of the local bars for a drink. This is the first time I’ve been able to go to the bars with my dad since I turned 21, and we had a great time!

Image

 The next morning we got up early to grab breakfast at a restaurant in the next town over. I had never been there before and it certainly exceeded our expectations! After breakfast we went to the driving range at the local golf course (my dad is a HUGE golfer), and after that just hung out for a bit. The rest of the afternoon was pretty much spent watching football (his alma matter was playing, even though it’s my school’s rival!), before heading to the game for my team. I even got him to wear our school colors, which was a big accomplishment! We decided to head home after the unfortunate loss of our football game, as I hadn’t been feeling well. I had been avoiding catching a pretty nasty cold, and it had finally caught up with me.

Unfortunately my dad had to leave really early the next morning to beat traffic on the drive home (it’s about a five hour drive), but we were able to make breakfast together first. I loved having my dad here for the weekend, and am only bummed that it went so fast! Since I’m graduating in the spring this was the last college Dad’s Weekend for us. Obviously I will get to hang out with him other times, but something about this weekend makes it all the more special. I love my dad very much, and am excited to see him again next month!

I hope you all had a great weekend! Xoxo,

Lauren

Leave a Reply

