Help Stop Puppy Mills

Hi there! So in the sake of full disclosure, I feel it’s only fair to warn you guys that this post will be a little bit of a downer!

Image

Today I wanted to share something with you all that is definitely a little different than my typical blog content. Several years ago, I saw an Oprah episode that that had to do with puppy mill busts. Now at the time I had no previous knowledge of what a puppy mill was, but after watching the episode I was disgusted and heartbroken to not only learn, but also see what they were. For those of you who do not know, puppy mills are large-scale commercial dog breeding operations where profit takes priority over the well being of the dogs. The best analogy I can think of to describe a puppy mill is a dog-breeding factory.

Image

The sole purpose of these places is to make money. Unlike responsible breeders, breeding at puppy mills is performed without consideration of genetic quality, which results in generations of dogs with unchecked hereditary defects. Additionally, Puppy mills usually house dogs in overcrowded and unsanitary conditions, without adequate veterinary care, food, water and socialization. Puppy mills also contribute to pet overpopulation, and cause countless dogs lifetimes of suffering in squalid wire cages. Though puppies are often sold to pet stores, and then sold again to owners from there, the dogs used for breeding purposes will spend their entire lives in these horrible facilities. Additionally, they are bred frequently and without proper time in between litters to recover.

As the saying goes, knowledge is power. Though I do not in anyway expect this blog post to shut down puppy mills, I do hope to bring awareness to this issue. I think a lot of people are unaware or simply misinformed about this issue, and I hope to present the facts and statistics in an easy to understand manner. Additionally, I believe that if people know about what goes on in these places, they will be less inclined to support them.

If you want to learn more about puppy mills, I would highly recommend checking out the Humane Society of the United States’ website, or the American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals. They have some great information, and I know that I personally learned a lot from their sites.

Leave a Reply

